The Shop on Peculiar Hill – Vale of Strange Book One

The Shop on Peculiar Hill Cover

The Shop on Peculiar Hill by Grimly Darkwood is available at Amazon UK or Amazon.com in paperback or Kindle format. It is a scary, funny, mysterious adventure story for kids aged about 8 to 12. Also suitable for parents and other adults who don’t get scared too easily. Warning: this book contains monsters!

Artwork by Pete Lyon.

See here for free sample chapters.

“Unputdownable – an enchanting story that’s so entertaining!” – Eric Brown, author of ‘An Alien Ate Me For Breakfast’

“A fabulous children’s fantasy, exciting and wildly imaginative” – John Guy Collick, author of the ‘Book of the Colossus’ series

Synopsis: When Peter comes to live with his aunt and uncle at the shop on Peculiar Hill, he has a lot to learn. What are bogeys and heeble-greebs and the other fierce creatures which live in the nearby Vale of Strange? Why is it so important to wear a hat and sturdy boots? And what is this stuff called strangeness which comes bubbling out of the ground? When Peter discovers the dark secret which lurks at the heart of this place, he finds his efforts to make things better do not go according to plan. He sets out to make amends with the aid of his new friend Amanda, but how can he know that requesting her help will prove to be such a very big mistake?

What people are saying:

“This book has it all – death, darkness, fearsome creatures, strange vegetables – everything needed to brew up a fantastical tale… The author has written the characters very well, so clearly that you can picture them in your mind – kind of like watching a Harry Potter movie.” – Anne-Marie Reynolds, review for Readers’ Favorite

“A riotously imaginative feast of fantastical adventure with lashings of larger-than-life characters and curious goings-on… this perfectly peculiar page-turner comes heartily recommended for fans of Mr Gum and Philip Ardagh.” – Joanne Owen, review for lovereading4kids

“The Shop on Peculiar Hill is not just a wonderfully entertaining fantasy adventure… but a gentle invitation to readers to expand their understanding of language and to look closely at how grown-ups use it. For those who loved A Series of Unfortunate Events and Spiderwick, this series looks like it might be a promising successor.” – The Children’s Book Review

“I can only imagine the creative impact this will have on young minds, and cannot recommend this book enough for yourself, the wee ones in your world, and just anyone you know who will enjoy a quirky, meaningful novel.” – Radzy Writes and Reviews

“The story is by turns mysterious, laugh-out-loud funny, and genuinely tense and gripping. This world feels absolutely real and lived-in – a hallmark of the very best fantasy.” – Amazon UK customer

“Magically and intriguingly weird, a wonderful mix of reality and fiction, escapism for all ages.” – Amazon UK customer

“My 7 year old granddaughter and her 70 year old grandfather both loved it. It’s a brilliant book suitable for 7 year olds upwards.” – Amazon UK customer

“The book is beautifully written, with an interesting story full of adventure and strange creatures… funny and gripping  all at the same time.” – Goodreads reader

“Fun and funny, with a plot twist in the best tradition of dark fairy tales” – Amazon.com customer

About Grimly Darkwood